RSS

At the Base of the Mountain

23 Jan

It has been a while since I graced these pages, but I am back.  A lot has changed.  I picked up and moved from Washington, DC to New Mexico.  I had never been here and did not know what to expect.  I fully trusted my husband’s belief that I would love it.  I can say that I do like the place, but it was not love at first sight.  Upon first arrival I marveled at its beauty but hated the slowness.  There is no sense of urgency here, not a green light, not in the line at Target, not even at a fast food restaurant.  It was a little jarring at first. It made me want to scream MOVE IT, or FASTER!!  It took me two weeks to get with this new pace. 

There is also no real love of politics and debate here.  It is like the mountains insulate you as if there is a barrier between me and the “real world”.  Huffington Post has been my savior by giving me glimpses of what is going on everywhere else.  I am also not a fan of the famous green chile here.  I can take it or leave it actually.  Let’s just say the first few weeks I was in shock and missed home with a passion.

But something happened.  Somewhere between desperately searching for political conversation and avoiding green chile I happened upon this stillness.  Every day when I leave the house I can see the majestic view of the Sandia Mountains.  Sometimes it sits against a cloudless blue sky and other times the top is covered with pure white clouds which my son tells us is a hat.  Even at night in darkness as thick as a blanket, you can still feel its presence. 

It sits there, still.  It is the one thing in the scenery that never changes.  We drive, and walk, and live around it and it kind of embraces the place.  We sit at the base of the mountain and after weeks of waking to its glory it has humbled me.  It has reminded me of all that came before me and all that will remain when I am gone.  It lets me know that there are greater things than my small problems and stresses.  The one thing I would love to take away from this place is the mountain and its humbling presence.

I want to take it to remind me to let go of the small stuff and to just sit and be still once in a while.  Though the pace here is slow, sometimes you need to slow down and bit and notice what is around you.  I am forever changed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
